The New Dynamic Trio: architecture | rendering | photography


76

Zaha Hadid | Galaxy Soho | Beijing, China

I must admit that even if Im not a huge fan of this extreme Formalism that has invaded contemporary architecture spirits, Zaha Hadid keeps surprising me at each new work. Her buildings always look like they might just came out of a computer screen, a perfect, over the top render, something unreal…

On one hand this means that the building breaks with its surroundings, acts almost like an alien, an outsider that, as a dictator or colonizer, has just reclaimed a piece of land without asking; on the other hand, it represents our dreams and expectations for the future, the best of mankind. I guess this is the eternal paradox of architecture…

Either ways in this case I was particularly impressed (for the 1000 time I must say, so I shouldn’t be impressed anymore) with the quality of Fernando Guerra photos. He is definitely one of the best architecture photographers of our time and, in a time when architecture is, more than ever, so concern with form, Im guessing that architects best friends are no longer the engineer and the plastic artist, but a new dynamic duo: the visualizer and the photographer.

So lets pay out homage to one of the heroes of our times and his gorgeous photograpghs that makes us keep dreaming with a perfect future, because I’m almost sure that once I visit the building, reality will check in, and the dream will not be so pink anymore…

See the entire photo shoot and get wowed…

 

